Agios Nikolaos tis Stegis is located just south of Kakopetria village on the banks of the Karkotis River. This Byzantine church was built in the 11th century and is a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site.
The church used to be part of a monastery of the same name. The monastery often comes up in the travel accounts of various famous travelers, who have compared it to the Kykkos Monastery as well as the Monastery of St. John Lampadistis. The monastery’s last remaining monk passed away in 1808 and all of the property was subsequently rented out.
The church, which is crowned with a gable roof, has survived in a relatively good shape. Its walls still display 11th-17th century frescoes (the best-known images include the Transfiguration of Jesus, the Triumphal Entry into Jerusalem, the Resurrection of Lazarus and others). The altar space features the Icon of Our Lady of the Sign with Archangels Michael and Gabriel, the Ascension, and the Descent of the Holy Spirit upon the Apostles.
The dome features 14th century paintings that include a depiction of Christ Pantocrator. The carved wooden iconostasis dates back to the 17th century. The fresco of the Nativity of Jesus is particularly worthy of attention due to the unusual portrayal of the Virgin breastfeeding the Child – a rare element in Byzantine frescoes. The large painting of Saint Nicholas, created in the 12th century, is displayed on the eastern wall of the nave.